some things I’ve been thinking about

My (somewhat unintended) blogging vacation has ended, and I’m back!

There is so much stuff running around in my head, and I’ve been trying to narrow in on a post topic for about a week and a half, to no avail. Therefore, I am simply going to bullet point the things I’ve been thinking about lately. Maybe this will be a new trend, Rachel Maddow “what are you reading this morning?” style. Let me know what you think.

Things I’ve been thinking about:

  • The start of a new semester!!! Always exciting, but this semester particularly so because I’m starting my blogging and Tweeting projects! I’m teaching three courses this semester: a Twitter focused Intro to Christianity, a multiple blog focused Intro to Christianity, and a single blog focused Intro to Religion. [And hello current students/new blog readers!] All of those courses will have some “public” element, so stay tuned for details on how you, dear reader, can participate in my class discussions! It will be interesting to see how these projects play out, which format works best, and how students respond. I’m sure there will be some future blog posts on all that.
  • This week marks 40 years since Woe v. Wade. I know that some of my readers see that case as something to be mourned, but whatever your stance on the beginning of life, it does seem important to note that this case has meant that for 40 years women have had safe alternatives to coat hangers, vacuums, and staircases, and because of that, lives have been saved.
  • I’m also thinking about writing a blog post on my views on how being committed to “protection of life” can lead to a consistent ethical theory that opposes war, poverty, and the death penalty while supporting euthanasia and the right to choose (re: abortion).
  • I’m thinking about young adult fiction. IMHO: Twilight makes Mad Men look feminist. And makes me want to pull my hair out. Hunger Games is good as social commentary, but bad as character development…. which is maybe the point. Divergent is a bit underwhelming, but I’ll stick with it at least through one more book. Nightshade is fantastic, if a bit too heavy on the heavy breathing.
  • I’m excited that I will be presenting a conference paper in Washington, DC in March. I will present at the Popular Culture Association/American Culture Association National Conference, and my paper is about the complexity of coming out narratives on Fox’s Glee. That paper is also forthcoming in an edited volume, so more details about that at some point this year.
  • I’m planning a few panels for the National Women’s Studies Association meeting this coming November in Cincinnati, OH. I’ll let you know how those applications go.
  • I want Hillary Clinton to run for president in 2016 because she is awesome, and brilliant, and awesome. I also want her to be healthy.
  • Obama’s inauguration speech was great. Did you watch it? Powerful stuff.
  • I need to write a post about how we can be simultaneously complicit with (re: perpetuating) and opposed to (re: fighting) oppression.
  • I need to write about “invisible” oppressions.
  • It is rainy and cold outside and that makes me want to eat french fries.

What are you thinking about these days? Any topics you’d like to have a conversation about? How do you make time in your life to keep up with news/current events?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to some things I’ve been thinking about

  1. I would like to hear more about this bullet point: “I’m also thinking about writing a blog post on my views on how ‘protection of life’ can lead to a consistent ethical theory that opposes war, poverty, and the death penalty while supporting euthanasia and the right to choose (re: abortion).”

    As a humorous aside: Since the Washington Bullets basketball team became the Washington Wizards to help promote non-violence, maybe these “bullet points” should be called “wizard points” from now on 🙂

  2. Kat says:

    I’m interested to hear more about “invisible oppressions” and what you feel would fall under this category, how they shape our culture and who participates (probably often unknowingly). I feel the weight of these often and they are usually played out through other peoples’ assumptions.

  3. Mike Johnson says:

    Cathy just finished Hunger Games, and loved it. I’m interested in any further recommendations you have…

Leave a Reply

